Board of County Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners serves as the legislative and policy-setting body for county government, enacts countywide regulations and authorizes programs and all expenditures of county funds. It also acts as the Board of Social Services, Board of Health and Board of Equalization. Three commissioners are each elected from single-member districts to four-year staggered terms to represent the entire county. 

Thomas Davidson


Karn Stiegelmeier


Elisabeth Lawrence

Elisabeth Lawrence

Contact the Commissioners

Thomas C. Davidson
District 2 

Karn Stiegelmeier
District 3

Elisabeth Lawrence
District 1

For written correspondence:
P.O. Box 68
Breckenridge, CO 80424


All meetings are open to the public, and citizens may offer comments on any issue or topic at the regular meetings during Citizen Comments (limited to 3 minutes per person).
  • Regular meetings are held on the second and fourth Tuesday of each month at 1:30 p.m., with the exception of legal holidays and regularly scheduled off-site conferences
  • Work sessions are held every Tuesday at 9 a.m.
  • Commissioners’ Hearing Room
    208 E. Lincoln Ave., 3rd Floor
    Breckenridge, CO 80424
  • For assistance or questions regarding special accommodations, accessibility or available audio/visual equipment, please contact 970-453-3403 as soon as possible, no later than 12 noon on the preceding Friday.

Agendas, Materials & Minutes

Agendas and materials are available prior to the meetings and are subject to change at any time. Minutes are available following approval.
View all Agendas, Materials & Minutes


To support a strong, safe, healthy and vibrant community by providing high-quality public services to the residents and visitors of Summit County, and to provide such services in a progressive, professional and efficient manner.


  • Ensure the long-term financial stability of Summit County government.
  • Promote collaboration, consolidation and communication within our organization and among public agencies, nonprofit organizations, private-sector partners and citizens to ensure the efficient delivery of high-quality, non-duplicative services to the community.
  • Sustainably maintain and improve County infrastructure to fulfill community goals.
  • Identify and act on opportunities to provide affordable workforce housing so that people can live and work in our community.
  • Protect, manage, conserve and restore our natural resources for the benefit of current and future generations.
  • Ensure affordability and accessibility of services that support the comprehensive health and well-being of children, families, seniors and individuals within our community.
  • Develop and implement strategies to effectively address growth, sustainability and livability of our dynamic community.
  • Celebrate and embrace Summit County’s history and diversity.
  • Foster a positive work environment and an organizational culture that values employee contributions and encourages staff to innovate and lead within the community.

Recent BOCC Discussions

Check out recent discussions by the Board of County Commissioners on Summit County TV.

County Attorney's Office 

The County Attorney’s Office provides legal counsel and advice to the Board of County Commissioners and all County departments, divisions, regulatory boards and advisory boards, and the Resource Allocation Park/Landfill. The county attorney is not legal counsel to the general public and may not advise individual citizens.


For assistance in obtaining Summit County’s written or audio materials in other formats, or for questions regarding special accommodations or accessibility, call 970-453-3403.