The Sheriff’s Office will provide a criminal history check for a fee of $25. The information provided will only contain activity within unincorporated Summit County; it will not include activity from municipalities within Summit County or within the State of Colorado. If you wish to conduct a criminal history check that includes all agencies within the State of Colorado, you can do so online at Colorado Bureau of Investigation Records Check
for a fee of $6.85.
There is no fee for background checks done for military recruiters or law enforcement/criminal justice agencies.
Request a Background Check
To request a background check, please contact the Records Division at (970) 453-2232. Applicable fees must be paid before a report can be released. You will also need to provide a copy of a driver’s license or other official identification.
Go to Sheriff's Office HOME page