Any person caring for unrelated children on a regular basis is required
by Colorado law to obtain a child care license.
- A license is not required if you are only caring for children from one family.
- Licensing is not expensive. It costs about $100.
- The licensing process is not lengthy. It typically takes four to eight weeks.
Steps to Become Licensed
1. Call Laura Cronin in Youth and Family Services at 970-668-9186 for a free licensing packet, or visit the Colorado Department of Human Services
2. Complete the necessary paperwork:
- Fingerprint cards
- Medical evaluation (signed by a health care professional).
3. Complete the necessary trainings:
- First aid and CPR
- 15-hour prelicensing class
- Universal precautions and medication administration.
4. Complete a home inspection with Child Care Licensing Specialist Laura Cronin.