About Us

The Summit County Sheriff's Office is comprised of five divisions - Administration, Operations, Detentions, Animal Control & Shelter, and Emergency Management - all overseen by Sheriff Jaime FitzSimons.


Support Services Division

The Support Services Division includes Records Management, Concealed Handgun Permits and the Civil Division.


The Operations Division, supervised by Commander Tom Whelan, is comprised of Patrol, Investigations, Special Operations (Search & Rescue and Water Rescue), Systemwide Mental Awareness Response Team (SMART) and S.W.A.T.


The Detention Division, supervised by Commander Jake Straw, includes the Jail, Court Security, Jail Based Behavioral Services (JBBS) and extradition. Our detention facility can accommodate up to 95 inmates each day and at times houses inmates from neighboring counties.

Animal Control & Shelter

The Animal Control Division, supervised by Director Lesley Hall, encompasses both Animal Control and the Animal Shelter. In addition to enforcing the animal control regulations for unincorporated Summit County, the Animal Control and Shelter also facilitates animal adoptions and educational programs.

Office of Emergency Management

The Office of Emergency Management (OEM), directed by Brian Bovaird, provides coordination of elected offices and county departments in preparedness, planning, response and recovery to emergencies and disasters. The OEM maintains the county emergency operations center and implements and executes emergency preparedness exercises for the county.

Go to Sheriff's Office HOME page