STR Moratorium

Short-Term Rental Moratorium for Unincorporated Summit County

The Board of County Commissioners made a decision on Sept. 14, 2021, to pass a temporary 90 day moratorium for unincorporated Summit County, excluding Keystone, Copper, and Peak 8 resort areas. The moratorium will take effect at 11:59 p.m. on Friday, Sept. 17, 2021.

The purpose of the moratorium is to address the local workforce housing crisis by preventing the further conversion of potential long-term housing stock, while giving the County time to examine data and take a surgical approach to any proposed code amendments.

The moratorium is only for new licenses and does not affect conversions or renewals.

The moratorium will specifically exempt identified resort zones around Copper, Keystone, and Peak 8. This moratorium will not impact STR operators converting an active permit to a license. 

Read the Staff Memo for the Public Hearing on the Proposed Moratorium

Attachment B - Amendments to Summit County Ordinance 20 and Section 3821 of the Summit County Land Use and Development Code – Topics for Consideration

Maps of Areas Excluded from Unicorporated Summit County Moratorium 

Copper Resort Exemption Area

Keystone Resort Exemption Area

Breckenridge Peak 8 Exemption Areas

Special Exception Process

Properties under contract for sale prior to the moratorium going into effect on September 18, 2021 or properties under construction with a certificate of occupancy anticipated prior to the lifting of the moratorium may be granted an exception to this temporary moratorium.  Evidence of real estate contract, signed and dated, and an affidavit of intent to short-term rent will be required.  If you meet the criteria contained in Attachment B to the Resolution, you may apply for a Special Exception using the application form after September 18, 2021.

*Note: This process is not available until 12:00 a.m. on Saturday, Sept. 18