Public Document Recording

COVID-19 Building Closure - Remote Recording Only

  • The Clerk & Recorder accepts recordings via, USPS Mail, FedEx, UPS, or utilizing the 5 drop boxes around the County usually reserved for voting
  • Plat mylars recorded by appointment only, email to set up an appointment

NEW!  Recorded Documents Available online through

  • 1/1/1990 forward are online, beginning with reception number 381124
  • ALL Plats (even pre-1990) are available on
  • Need help?
    • Having technical trouble with, need assistance creating an account, or have a billing question?  Email 
    • If you have trouble accessing a post-1990 document that should be on, email 
  • $15 for 24-hour access
  • $275 for monthly access

Verified "Through" Dates

  • Indexing: July 6
  • Images: October 23

Document Requests & Research Policy

  • Recording staff will only fulfill email document requests for non-commercial requestors and reserve the right to refer requests to title searchers and companies
  • Pre-1990 requests from commercial (law firms, title companies, etc.) entities must be referred to a title searcher
  • Post-1990 requests from commercial (law firms, title companies, etc.) entities must be conducted through or will be referred to a title searcher
  • Recording staff does not conduct extensive document research, or provide status on title - we will refer you to a Title Company
  • Recording staff cannot advise how to compile a legal document for recording, including but not limited to Deeds and Liens
  • During COVID-19, we have an appointment-based search terminal available.  Email to make an appointment.

Recording a Document During COVID-19

Documents may be electronically Recorded (submitted electronically) through Simplifile.  Contact Simplifile at 1 (800) 460-5657 or online at www.simplifile.comIf you record with our office regularly, we highly recommend this method of recordation as it provides an almost instant turnaround of your recorded document for a nominal fee.

U.S. Mail:
Summit County Clerk & Recorder
Attn: Recording
P.O. Box 1538
Breckenridge, CO  80424

FedEx, UPS or In-Person:
Summit County Clerk & Recorder
Attn: Recording
208 East Lincoln Avenue
Breckenridge, Colorado 80424 (FedEx or UPS)


1. Completed Documents.  Our office does not provide forms for legal documents, nor does staff provide assistance in filling out legal documents/templates.  Our office can refer customers to local title companies and attorneys that specialize in real estate recording upon an e-mail request to the Recording Desk.  Submit TD-1000s together with applicable documents to the Clerk & Recorder, we will forward to the Assessor's Office.  TD-1000s (Transfer Declarations) are not required for timeshares.
2. Correct Fees are submitted with original documents to be recorded.  C.R.S. 30-1-103.  Checks are required to be made payable to "Summit County Clerk", properly dated and signed.  Applicable State Documentary Fees should also be included with the Recording Fee Payment.  For transactions with consideration over $500.00, 10¢ per $1,000.00 should be included with payment.  C.R.S. 39-13-102.  Check out the right side of this webpage for detailed information about Recording Fees.  *Even if there is no consideration on the document, but there is consideration on the TD-1000, it is required to submit the State of Colorado Documentary Fee.
3. Correct Margins should be accommodated in the format of the document(s) submitted for recording.  A top margin of at least one inch and all other margins at least 1/2-inch is required.  C.R.S. 301-10-406(3)(a).
4. Return Mailing Address indicated on the document's front or reverse side.  Self-addressed, stamped envelopes assist staff in the return of original documents once recorded.  SASEs are not required, but are greatly appreciated.

Recording Fees

Recording fees are statutory.  Fees can vary depending on the type of document that is being recorded.  The fees listed below include any applicable surcharges.  State Documentary fees (required on transactions with over $500.00 consideration) should be calculated and included with recording fee payment.
  • Real Estate and other Standard Documents: (Per Document)
    • $13.00 for the first page
    • $5.00 for each additional page
  • Mining Documents i.e. Affidavits of Labor and Location Certificates (Per Document) 
    • $8.00 for the first page
    • $5.00 for each additional page
    • 25¢ per claim
  • Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) Documents
    • 1-2 pages filed hard copy $13.00 flat fee
    • 3+ pages $18.00 filed hard copy flat fee
    • ANY page length filed electronically $8.00 flat fee
  •  Plats (Subdivision/Lot Line/Town Boundaries)
    • $13.00 for the first page
    • $10.00 for each additional page
  • Land Survey Plats are not recorded, but are deposited for a fee of $10.00 + an indexing fee of $10.00 per page for the County Surveyor per BOCC Resolution 89-41

Municipal Real Estate Transfer Taxes

The towns of Breckenridge and Frisco collect transfer taxes on real estate transactions within their town boundaries.  Even if you believe that your transaction is exempt from their municipal tax, routing your documents through their Finance Departments is generally required by the municipality for an exemption stamp before recordation.  Questions or concerns about RETT?  Contact the respective municipality directly.

Click: Town of Breckenridge RETT (Real Estate Transfer Tax)
Finance Department
Town of Breckenridge
150 Ski Hill Road
Breckenridge, CO  80424
(970) 453-3182

Click: Town of Frisco REIF (Real Estate Investment Fund)
Finance Department
Town of Frisco
1 Main Street
Frisco, CO  80443
(970) 668-9127