Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
The Summit County Assessor’s Office will send out notices of valuation to property owners on May 1
Contact:Beverly Breakstone, Summit County Assessor970-453-3492, firstname.lastname@example.org
SUMMIT COUNTY – The Summit County Assessor’s Office will mail out its biannual notices of valuation to local property owners on Friday, May 1. Colorado statute mandates that county assessors revalue all property within their county boundaries every odd year.
“Most of Summit County’s properties saw an increase in value,” Summit County Assessor Beverly Breakstone said. “The housing market exhibited marked improvements during our data-collection period, from July 1, 2012, to June 30, 2014.”
According to the 2015 revaluation, the average value of a single family home in Summit County is $794,683. The average condominium value is $320,350. In Breckenridge, the average value of a single family home is now $1,388,498, and the average condo value is $412,062. The Assessor’s Office values local property using qualified sales that take place during the two-year data-collection period. Each property is time-adjusted to June 30, 2014.
“Much of our time is spent developing time adjustments and statistical models to determine the value of various property amenities,” Breakstone said.
Taxpayers wishing to protest their value with the Summit County Assessor’s Office may do so by Monday, June 1. Appeals can be made using the indicated section on the valuation notice. Taxpayers can appeal online, in person or by mail. Mailed appeals must be postmarked by June 1. For those appealing in person, the Assessor’s Office closes at 5 p.m. Online appeals must be made before 12 midnight.
Taxpayers in Colorado over the age of 65 who have occupied their home as the primary residence for at least 10 years as of January 1, 2015, are eligible for the Senior Property Tax Exemption. To apply for the exemption, visit the Assessor’s Office in person or online at www.co.summit.co.us/assessor.
For more information, call the Summit County Assessor’s Office at 970-453-3480.
Correction: April 28, 2015An earlier version of this press release contained incorrect figures for the average values of single family homes in Summit County and Breckenridge.